Summer Concert 2017

Sun, 2 Jul 2017


Conductor - Jonathan Hargreaves
Leader - Tina Bowles

In support of the Camden Psychotherapy Unit Registered Charity 112967

The Concert Programme

  • A Moorside Suite - Gustav Holst arranged by Gordon Jacob

    • I - Scherzo

    • II - Nocturne

    • III - March

  • Tilikum (World premiere being recorded by BBC Radio 3) - Martin Humphries

    • I - Whitewash

    • II - Showtime

    • III - Sonar lament

    • IV - Pent up

    • V - Blackfish

  • Lincolnshire Posy - Percy Grainger, arranged by Merlin Patterson

    • I - Lisbon (Sailor's song)

    • II - Horkstow Grange (The miser and his man - a local tragedy)

    • III - Rufford Park Poachers (A poaching song)

    • IV - The Brisk Young Sailor (who returned to wed his true love)

    • V - Lord Melbourne (War song)

    • VI - The Lost Lady Found (Dance song)


  • Five Variants of "Dives and Lazarus" - Ralph Vaughan Williams

    • Introduction and theme - Adagio

    • Variant I - b minor

    • Variant II - Allegro Moderato - b minor

    • Variant III - d minor

    • Variant IV - L'istesso tempo

    • Variant V - Adagio - b minor

  • The Young person's Guide to the Orchestra - Benjamin Britten

Programme Notes

A Moorside Suite - Gustav Holst (1874 - 1934)

This suite was composed for brass band and was the result of a competition commission for the BBC and National Brass Band Festival Committee of 1927. The 1952 arrangement for symphony orchestra is by Gordon Jacob, and is in three movements. The darting rhythm of the first movement has something of an intellectual game. The Nocturne of the second is warm and lyrical while the final March is triumphant.


Tilikum - Martin Humphries (1989 - )

Martin, who studied composing at Cardiff, Southampton and Bath Universities, was selected to write this work under the Adopt a Composer Scheme run by Making Music in partnership with Sound and Music and BBC Radio 3, who made a recording of this live performance.

The music describes the life of Tilikum, the orca whale who died this year in captivity aged 34. He achieved celebrity for his involvement in the death of three people, and the subsequent upheaval of public perception towards captive display whales in theme parks.

The work is in five sections. 'Whitewash' depicts the open sea and the capture of the two year old calf. 'Showtime' presents the theme park show in all its glossy spendour. Then there is the first attack. 'Sonar Lament' explores the futile attempt of captive whales to connect through long-range sonar, which in the confines of a tank is thought to lead to pyschosis. Another attack follows. The repetitive circling behaviours of captive whales is explored in 'Pent Up', before climaxing in a final, brutal attack which took place before a crowd at SeaWorld, Florida. 'Blackfish', the final section, returns to the oceanic material of the opening, albeit transformed into a sterilised and chlorinated rendition.


Lincolnshire Posy - Percy Grainger (1882 - 1961)

Considered his masterpiece, this work is an arrangement of English folksongs collected by the Australian-born composer on a visit to Lincolnshire in 1906. It was written for wind band and first performed in 1937 after Grainger became an American citizen. Grainger intended that each song should express 'a musical protrait of the singer's personality... his habits of song, his regular or irrelgular wonts of rhythm'. Grainger dedicated his 'bunch of wildflowers' to 'the old folksingers who sang so sweetly to me'.


Five variants of "Dives and Lazarus" - Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872 - 1958)

The composer wrote this piece for the World's Fair in New York. It is based on an old British folk tune which he later arranged as the hymn Kingsfold. The story is from St. Luke's gospel about Dives (the rich man) who ignored the pleading of the beggar Lazarus who lay at his gate. After their deaths, Lazarus was received into heaven and the rich man had to beg from hell only for Abraham to refuse to save him. The six segments contain sumptuous string writing with sweeping melodies and rich harmonies.


The Young Person's Guide to the Orchestra - Benjamin Britten (1913 - 1976)

The piece, composed in 1945, was originally commissioned for an educational documentary film called 'Instruments of the Orchestra'. It carries the subtitle 'Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Purcell' based on a 17th century hornpipe melody. The theme is initially played by the entire orchestra and then by each group of instruments, moving from high to low displaying their range and texture - first the woodwinds, then the brass, then the strings and finally the percussion. Then the orchetsra is reassembled for the fugue.

Notes by Netia Lascelles

The Concert Charity

CPU ( Registered Charity No. 1112967) offers free and low fee psychoanalytic psychotherapy, on a short and long term basis, to people facing emotional distress and personal difficulties. The unit provides treatment to over a hundred and thirty people annually. The service is available to people across London from all backgrounds. Referrals may be m,ade by professionals or people may refer themselves directly to CPU. Until 2010 CPU was fully funded by the NHS, when funding was totally withdrawn. Since then it has managed to continue its work only as a result of vigorous fundraising. 

The Concert Players

Conductor: Jonathan Hargreaves

First Violins

  • Tina Bowles (Leader)
  • Rachel Barbanel
  • Mary Dentschuk
  • Steve Dobson
  • Oscar Emanuel
  • Adrian Garfoot
  • Sian Herlihy
  • Rosalind Hedley-Miller
  • Loren O'Dair
  • Gwyn Rhydderch
Second Violins
  • Nichola Blakey (Principal)
  • Ian Brookman
  • Hannah Callcut
  • Laura Kischkei
  • Mary Ruddy
  • Jan Toporowski
  • Raffaella Urbani
  • Gintare Zolubaite
  • Geoff Irwin (Principal)
  • Tom Boswell
  • Dickie Clarembaux
  • Nigel Franklin
  • Netia Lascelles
  • John Nicholls
  • Sarah Parfitt
  • Philip Collingham (Principal)
  • Susan Bird
  • Fiona Dunn
  • Hilary Evans
  • Olivia Kilmartin
  • Helen Mabelis
Double Basses
  • Jack Cherry
  • Jack Hewetson
  • Francois Moreau
  • Ian Braford
  • Joanna Bosanquet
  • Graeme Scott
  • Sumitra Lahiri
  • Adrian Hall
  • Ming-Li Kong
Cor Anglais
  • Adrian Hall
  • Lindsey Kaye
  • Sophie Goodwin
  • Ian Merryweather
Bass Clarinet
  • Ian Merryweather
Tenor Saxophone
  • Sophie Goodwin
  • Rosalind Hedley-Miller
  • Louise Johnston
  • Andrew Ross
French Horns
  • Federico Espinosa
  • Clare Hennesey
  • Susie Laker
  • Richard Slater
  • Patrick Dodds
  • Jonny Munn
  • Barney Samson
  • Julie Turner
  • Rob Heath
  • Sian Herlihy
  • Paul Weaving
  • Rory Wilson
  • Glain Daffyd
  • Stuart Delve
  • David Coronel
  • John Holland
  • Sharon Moloney