Christmas Concert 2014

Sun, 14 Dec 2014

Conductor - Gregory Batsleer
Leader - Tina Bowles

Featuring the Tottenham Community Choir

In aid of Freedom from Torture  Registered Charity No 1000340

The Concert Programme

  • Prelude to Hansel and Gretel - Engelbert Humperdinck

  • Hoedown from Rodeo - Aaron Copland

  • Let the River Run - Carly Simon, arranged by Nicki Williamson

  • N'Kosi Sikelel' iAfrica - Enoch Sontonga

  • Peer Gynt Suite - Edvard Grieg

    • Morning

    • Death of ├ůse

    • Anitra's Dance

    • In the Hall of the Mountain King

  • Carols with the audience - Traditional, arranged by Tony Royse

    • Hark the Herald Angels Sing

    • Silent Night

    • Good King Wenceslas


  • Karelia Suite - Jean Sibelius

    • Intermezzo

    • Ballade

    • Alla Marcia

  • Domini Fili Unigenite - Antonio Vivaldi, arranged by James Batty

  • Nutcracker Suite - Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    • March

    • Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy

    • Russian Dance

    • Dance of the Reed Flutes

    • Waltz of the Flowers

  • Sleigh Ride - Leroy Andersen

  • Carols with the audience - Traditional, arranged by Tony Royse

    • God rest Ye Merry Gentlement

    • O Come All Ye Faithful


Performance Notes

Prelude to Hansel and Gretel - Engelbert Humperdick (1854 - 1921)

Engelbert Humperdinck is a German composer best known for his opera based on the fairy story by the brothers Grimm about two children lost in the wood. It began as a set of songs for the composer's sister before he expanded it into a full-scale opera which was first performed in 1893. It has been a great favourite ever since, particularly The Evening Prayer which opens the Prelude.

Hoedown - Aaron Copeland (1900 - 1990)

Aaron Copeland was born in Brooklyn of Jewish Lithuanian parents. He developed a uniquely American style in his ballets Rodeo, Billy the Kid and Appalachian Spring. Rodeo, composed in 1942, tells a cowboy love story about Roper and the Cowgirl, ending with a 'knees-up' when everyone joins in a boisterous Hoedown.

Let the River Run and N'Kosi Sikelel' iAfrika

Let the River Run is an arrangement by Craig Hella Johnson with orchestral accompaniment by Nicki Wiliamson. This is followed by an unaccompanied version of the Xhosa hymn meaning 'God Bless Africa'. It became an inspiration for the anti-apartheid movement and was later incorporated into the South African National Anthem.

Peer Gynt Suite - Edvard Grieg (1843 - 1907)

Edvard Grieg is a Norwegian composer whose distinctive style put Norwegian music on the map. In 1874, Ibsen invited Grieg to compose music for his drama Peer Gynt, about the adventures of a young outlaw, which was performed in 1876. The suite ranges from the limpid pastoral melody of Morning to the haunting pulse of The Hall of the Mountain King.

Karelia Suite - Jean Sibelius (1865 - 1957)

This famous suite by Jean Sibelius, Finalnd's leading composer, was originally commissioned as incidental music for seven historical tableaux at a time when Karelia was part of eastern Finland. Sibelius later re-arranged it as a three-piece Suite consisting of an Intermezzo depicting Karelians offering tribute to a Lithuanian prince, a sombre Ballade portraying a deposed ruler listening to a minstrel at Viipuri castle, and an Alla Marcia which provides a stirring climax to this evocative piece.

Domine Fili Unigenite - Antonio Vivaldi

The choir perorms this loveley Vivaldi melody in an arrangement by one of its memebrs, James Batty.

Nutcracker Suite - Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

In 1890, Tchaikovsky was commissioned to write ballet music for Hoffmann's tale The Nutcracker which tells the story of a girl named Clara who is given, as a Christmas present, a nutcracker in the form of a man. Her jealous brother breaks it and Clara is heartbroken. That night, Clara dreams that her nutcracker is in a fierce duel with a mouse king with seven heads. The mouse becomes a prince who takes her to visit the land of sweets.  In this programme, the orchestra plays dances from this section of the ballet.

Sleigh Ride - Leroy Anderson (1908 - 1975)

Leroy Anderson was an American composer of many well-known tunes such as Forgotten Dreams. He wrote Sleigh Ride during a July heat wave. The brisk rhythm and instrumental immitation of hoof beats and whinnies made it a Christmas favoutire. When Mitchell Parish added works, it becamse a best-selling song.

Notes compiled with reference to Making Music.

The Concert Charity

Freedom from Torture Registered Charity No 1000340

Formerly the Medical Foundation for the Care of Victims of Torture, has been working for almost 30 years to provide medical, psychological, physical and practical help to survivors of torture in the UK, as well as promoting their rights. Since 1985, more than 50,000 individuals have been referred to the charity. Thanks to the dedication of staff, volunteers and supporters, thousands of torture survivors have been able to rebuild their lives in difficult circumstances.

The Concert Players

Conductor: Gregory Batsleer

First Violins

  • Tina Bowles (Leader)
  • Rachel Barbanel
  • Steve Dobson
  • Adrian Garfoot
  • Nataliya Mandzhekova
  • Gwyn Rhydderch
  • Richard Smith
Second Violins
  • Nichola Blakey (Principal)
  • Sonja Ashbury
  • Ian Brookman
  • Sonya Kalyniak
  • Mei Lee
  • Sabrina Pathan
  • Emily Taylor
  • Jan Toporowski
  • Marianna Waite
  • Ayesha Wynne
  • Gintare Zolubaite
  • Geoff Irwin (Principal)
  • Tom Boswell
  • Richard Clarembaux
  • Nigel Franklin
  • Thea Hoskin
  • Laura Seddon (Principal)
  • Sue Bird
  • Hilary Evans
  • Sarah Gregor
  • Olivia Kilmartin
  • Yasmin Mukhida
  • Christine Secombe
  • Nicola Smith
Double Basses
  • Esther Arribas
  • Clarissa Dann
  • Ian Bradford
  • Joanna Bosanquet
  • Graeme Scott
  • Sumitra Lahiri
  • Adrian Hall
Cor Anglais
  • Adrian Hall
  • Lindsey Kaye
  • Ian Merryweather
Bass clarinet
  • Ian Merryweather
  • Rosalind Hedley-Miller
  • Hugh Whitfield
French Horns
  • Simon Ashdown
  • Clare Hennesey
  • Netia Lascelles
  • Julie Rooke
  • Angela Dudley
  • Jacob Spence
  • Rob Heath
  • Sian Herlihy
  • Paul Weaving
  • Ian Brookman
  • Stuart Delve
  • David Coronel
  • Sharon Moloney